Jessica Gregson’s blog

Possibly the best WordPress blog

Reading ‘Fry’ in Dubai (rhyme unintentional)

leave a comment »

P1180087

The book: Fry: A Memoir, Stephen Fry

The place: Dubai Mall

A day late and a dollar short: the photo above was taken last night while I was cowering in Caribou Coffee after complete sensory overload in Dubai Mall. I don’t know how people do it; I walked around for two hours without ever retracing my steps, went into a fugue state in Cos and then subsided, a trembling wreck, in Caribou Coffee, where I gorged on a succession of sugary comestibles and beverages until it was time to go to the airport for my (horrors) 2.45am flight to Nairobi.

And thus: back to Africa, after four weeks on the Arabian Peninsula. An intensive Arabic course is not much of a holiday, per se, but a change is as good as a rest &c. &c. and it was delightful to spend time in unfamiliar surroundings, doing something new and challenging for my brain. Even at the time and especially in hindsight, Oman feels semi-magical: mountains and forts and ruined watchtowers and souqs and very aesthetically pleasing traditional dress. I confess that it plays up to all my orientalist notions of Arabia, and in retrospect I wouldn’t be surprised to find I had invented it wholesale.

P1090424

Diving the Daymaniyat Islands

P1090441

Fishing nets near Sawadi

P1150013

Muttrah Corniche

P1170038

Fishing – or smuggling – boats, Khasab Harbour

P1180057

Sunset over the Musandam Peninsula

P1180077

From the road between Khasab and Ras al Khaimah

Written by Jess

January 19, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

