Jessica Gregson’s blog

Possibly the best WordPress blog

Reading ‘The Blazing World’ in Garowe

leave a comment »

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The book: The Blazing World, Siri Hustvedt

The place: Garowe

*

There are some writers who trip my insecurity triggers, and there are other writers who are just so awesome that there’s nothing I can do but just admire their erudition and artistry. Siri Hustvedt falls into the latter category. This book is astounding: the way that it’s written; the various references to art and psychoanalysis and neuroscience and philosophy; the way it creates a whole multi-layered and intensely visual world, a double act of creation. When I read Paul Auster’s The Book of Illusions at the end of last year I felt the same way,* and then was delighted when Wikipedia informed me that Siri Hustvedt and Paul Auster are married to one another. (I am not sure whether I didn’t know this because I am shockingly ignorant when it comes to the literary world, or whether I didn’t know this because the private lives of writers – even celebrated ones like Auster and Hustvedt – remain pretty obscure.) I now have this happy-making image of them living together in some rambling New York loft full of books and art, bouncing ideas off one another. I hope this is true.

*Other books that are like this: Janette Turner Hospital’s The Last Magician; Olga Grushin’s The Dream Life of Sukhanov.

Written by Jess

March 17, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

