Jessica Gregson’s blog

Possibly the best WordPress blog

Reading ‘A Complicated Kindness’ in Kigali

leave a comment »

2015-09-03 17.41.48

The book: A Complicated Kindness, Miriam Toews

The place: Kigali

*

I write from Kigali Airport, after a brief visit to Rwanda – my second this year, for a country I’d never visited before 2015. This time it was work rather than pleasure, but nonetheless Kigali is a gorgeous place to spend a few days, cool and clear-aired and with invigorating thunderstorms nearly every evening.

I finished Miriam Toews’ All My Puny Sorrows just a few days ago, absolutely loved it, and was very pleased to find I already had a copy of A Complicated Kindness on my Kindle. (One advantage of my eBook-related profligacy is surprises like this.) Toews has that rare gift of being able to write properly laugh-out-loud funny books about characters who are really rather tragic; it’s something that I wish I could do more in my own writing, which I worry is broadly one register or the other, none of the delicate mixing that Toews manages.

Written by Jess

September 5, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

